Posted in Thoughts

Beautiful Hands – A Tribute to Margaret my Midwife

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beautiful Hands

These hands soothed my laboured body with a back rub

Passed a tissue of comfort

Cleansed away unmentionable bodily fluids

Guided emerging new life

Lifted precious cargo to my breast

Gently clothed my naked babe

Carefully examined places most would shudder at

Skillfully stitched my flesh.

The hands that felt the growing life within were usually cold,

But they were connected to a warm heart –

A heart full of cheerfulness, respect and hope.

These hands were an instrument of God’s blessing to me.

I call these hands beautiful.

Margaret passed away earlier this month after a short battle with cancer. She helped me deliver 9 out of my 10 babies. I loved her.

Author:

Married, former nurse, 11 children, homeschooling, Christian, 45y, like gardening, sewing, music making, art and craft, teaching children to read

Leave a Reply

